Six Nations 2021 bonus points: How do you get a rugby bonus point and how many tries do teams need? – The Sun

THE Six Nations is back, more than seven months after the coronavirus pandemic cancelled the remaining matches.

England, Ireland and France are all in with a chance of lifting the Championship as we head into the final round of games on Super Saturday.

How do you get a bonus point in the Six Nations?

Six Nations teams receive four points for a win, two points for a draw and nothing for a defeat by more than eight points.

A team will receive ONE extra point if they score four or more tries in a single match, and ONE extra point if they lose by eight or less.

The system has been used for the past few years in Six Nations, as England claimed the title in 2020.

In a Six Nations first, bonus points were awarded in 2017 in what was designed to be a three-year trial run.

But due to its overwhelming success in encouraging attacking, engaging rugby, that trial has now been scrapped and the system brought in permanently.

How many points do teams get for a win?

Teams get four points for a win and zero for a loss.

That means the most points a winning team can get is five, while a losing team can still pick up up to two points.

Two points are given if a match is tied, meaning teams involved in drawn matches get three points if they score four tries.

Six Nations fixtures and results 2020

Round 1

  • Italy vs France
  • England vs Scotland
  • Wales vs Ireland

Round 2

  • England vs Italy
  • Scotland vs Wales
  • Ireland vs France

Round 3

  • Italy vs Ireland
  • Wales vs England
  • France vs Scotland

Round 4

  • Italy vs Wales
  • England vs France
  • Scotland vs Ireland

Round 5

  • Scotland vs Italy
  • Ireland vs England
  • France vs Wales

Source: Read Full Article