SpaceX to launch 60 Starlink satellites today – watch Falcon 9 launch HERE

https://www.youtube.com/embed/xRu-ekesDyY

SpaceX now has more than 1,600 Starlink satellites in orbit, but it will increase the load later today. Elon Musk’s company will be launching the 60 satellites into orbit onboard a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket. The launch will take place from the Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida.

SpaceX has said the launch window opens today at 2.59pm EDT (7.59pm BST), with a back up window at 2.38pm EDT (7.38pm BST) tomorrow, May 27.

A live stream of the event has been embedded onto this page, courtesy of SpaceX.

It will begin “about 15 minutes” before launch, SpaceX said.

Mr Musk’s firm will be optimistic the launch will go ahead today, with good weather conditions forecasted in Florida.

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

SpaceX wrote on its website: “SpaceX is targeting Wednesday, May 26 for the next Falcon 9 launch of 60 Starlink satellites from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida.

“The instantaneous window is at 2:59 p.m. EDT, or 18:59 UTC, and a backup opportunity is available on Thursday, May 27 at 2:38 p.m. EDT, or 18:38 UTC.

“Falcon 9’s first stage booster previously supported the Sentinel-6A mission.

“Following stage separation, SpaceX will land Falcon 9’s first stage on the ‘Just Read the Instructions’ droneship, which will be located in the Atlantic Ocean.

“One half of Falcon 9’s fairing previously supported four Starlink missions, and the other previously supported a Starlink mission and the Transporter-1 mission.”

SpaceX has recently been given regulatory approval for the UK, meaning customers could begin signing up.

Mr Musk has plans to get thousands of satellites into orbit, meaning no one will have to go without broadband.

To receive the Starlink internet, users will have to have a satellite dish installed.

DON’T MISS
Dogecoin price rise: Cryptocurrency nears all-time high value
Elon Musk slammed by crypto experts for ‘Doge-for-Tesla’ tease
Private space travel: Japanese billionaire will pop to the ISS

Ofcom has given approval for dishes to be installed across UK homes, Bloomberg confirmed.

But Starlink will not come cheap to potential UK users. The initial cost of having the hardware set up is £439, plus another £54 for shipping fees.

On top of this, users will have to pay a further £84 a month to receive Starlink’s broadband.

Mr Musk has goals to get 12,000 Starlink satellites into orbit by 2026.

Source: Read Full Article