'Never Rarely Sometimes Always' Leads 2021 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations

36th annual awards show will be held Thursday, April 22 on IFC

Focus Features

“First Cow,” “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom,” “Minari,” “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” and “Nomadland” scored Best Feature Film nominations for the 2021 Independent Spirit Awards, with “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” leading the pack with seven nominations.

And for the first time Film Independent recognized the best in TV. “A Teacher,” “I May Destroy You,” “Little America,” “Small Axe” and “Unorthodox” all landed nominations for Best New Scripted Series.

Nominations for the 36th annual ceremony were announced Tuesday via Film Independent’s website and YouTube channel by Laverne Cox, Barry Jenkins and Olivia Wilde.

Though the awards are generally held the Saturday afternoon before the Oscars ceremony, the show has been moved up to a primetime slot on Thursday, April 22 and will air on IFC that will also be simulcast on AMC+ and made available on AMC+ and on demand the next day.

The newly added TV categories this year included Best New Scripted Series, Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series, Best Male Performance, Best Female Performance and Best Ensemble Cast.

List of Nominees (Updating)

Best Feature
First Cow
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best First Feature
I Carry You With Me
The 40-Year-Old Version
Miss Juneteenth
Nine Days
Sound of Metal

John Casssavetes Award
The Killing of Two Lovers
La Leyenda Negra
Lingua Franca
Saint Frances

Best Screenplay
Bad Education
The Half of It
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Promising Young Woman

Best Cinematography
The Assistant
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
She Dies Tomorrow

Best Documentary
Crip Camp
Dick Johnson is Dead
The Mole Agent

First Feature
I Carry You With Me
The 40 Year Old Version
Miss Juneteenth
Nine Days
Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actor
Colman Domingo
Orion Lee
Paul Raci
Glynn Turman
Benedict Wong

Best Male Lead
Riz Ahmed
Chadwick Boseman
Adarsh Gourav
Rob Morgan
Steven Yeun

Best Female Lead

Nicole Beharie – “Miss Juneteenth”
Viola Davis – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”
Sidney Flanigan – “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”
Julia Garner – “The Assistant”
Frances McDormand – “Nomadland”
Carey Mulligan – “Promising Young Woman”

Best Director
Lee Isaac Chung
Emerald Fennell
Eliza Hittman
Kelly Reichardt
Chloé Zhao

More to come…



Source: Read Full Article